Petaling BC Win Derby

Petaling Badminton Club (BC) claimed bragging rights as they defeated Petaling Jaya BC in their

Iskandar Zulkarnain completed the comeback and seal the win for Petaling BC as he defeated Petaling Jaya BC’s Lee Cheuk Yiu 3-1 during their SSPL 2017/18 Phase 1 match at the Sports Arena Sentosa, Old Klang Road earlier today.

match at the Sports Arena Sentosa, Old Klang Road today.

The reigning champions had to bounce back after their humbling defeat to Cheras BC yesterday. But they could not rise to the occasion as neighbours Petaling BC came back to record a slim 10-9 win.

Goh Giap Chin got the ball rolling for Petaling Jaya BC after defeating Petaling BC’s Kenichi Tago, who is currently suffering a dip in form. Goh won the first men’s singles 3-1 (7-11, 11-4, 11-4, 11-8).

Petaling Jaya BC took control of the game as Supanida Katethong won her women’s singles match against Petaling BC’s Hera Desiana Rachmawati 3-0 (11-10, 11-9, 11-5).

But a win in the men’s doubles match turned things around for Petaling BC as their young pair – Aaron Chia and Shia Chun Kang managed to beat Petaling Jaya BC’s Low Juan Shen and Chooi Kah Ming 3-1 (11-10, 7-11, 11-10, 11-9).

Another vital 3-1 for Petaling BC win in the mixed doubles match set up a winner-take-all finale in the final men’s singles match. Chen Tang Jie and Devi Tika Permatasari dispatched their Petaling Jaya BC opponent, Woon Khe Wei and V. Thanesh (11-4, 3-11, 11-4, 11-9).

The comeback was completed as Iskandar Zulkarnain once again bailing Petaling BC out as he won his match against Petaling Jaya BC’s Lee Cheuk Yiu 3-1 (11-10, 8-11, 11-3, 11-9) and seal the win for his team.

“I am satisfied with my players’ performances. I told them to not fool around and underestimate any of our opponents and it looks like they have heeded my advice. Credit has to go to Iskandar Zulkarnain for his performances in this season’s SSPL,” said Petaling BC’s coach, Ismail Saman.

Meanwhile, Bangsar Hawks BC are still struggling to find their winning rhythm after their latest 8-12 defeat to Kepong BC earlier today in their SS Purple League (SSPL) 2017/18 Phase 1 match at the Sports Arena Sentosa, Old Klang Road.

Zhang Song Ye of Bangsar Hawks BC edged Kepong BC’s Lim Chi Win 3-2 (4-11, 11-3, 11-9, 8-11, 5-6) in the first men’s singles. But Ayaho Sugino levelled proceedings as the Kepong BC’s women’s singles defeated Bangsar Hawks BC’s Yap Yee 3-2 (11-10, 7-11, 11-4, 10-11, 6-2).

The Hawks then took the lead as their pair of Dede Ryan Philip and Yap Qar Siong entertained spectators to a 3-1 (11-10, 8-11, 11-7, 11-10) win over Kepong BC’s Nur Mohd Azriyn Ayub and Tan Chee Tean.

The lead exchanged hands as Kepong BC’s national shuttlers, Cheah Yee See and Goh Soon Huat easily defeated Bangsar Hawks BC’s Liu Lin and Hiripong Sathorn 3-0 (11-3, 11-8, 11-7) in the mixed doubles match to put their team ahead by one point in the overall score.

In a must-win match for both sides, it was Soong Joo Ven who made sure of the victory for Kepong BC as he recorded a straight sets 3-0 (11-5, 11-8, 11-7) win over Bangsar Hawks BC’s Wu Song Jian in the final match of the game.

“We have one more game to salvage something. I am not looking too far as to qualifying for the Finals. Our objective has always been to provide playing opportunities to the younger players. We offer them the platform to hone their skills and I think they have done so in this year’s SSPL,” said Bangsar Hawks BC’s team manager, Abdul Hafidz Win.

“For example, our men’s doubles pair – Dede Ryan and Yap Qar Siong defeated Goh V Shem and his partner in our last game and recorded yet another win today against more experienced oppositions. Same goes to Yap Yee who almost won her game today. So as a manager, I am very proud of their performances,” added Hafidz.

SSPL 2017/18 Phase 1 Results (30/12/2017)

(4pm) Bangsar Hawks BC lost to Kepong BC 8-12
MS2: Zhang Song Ye bt Lim Chi Wing 3-2 (4-11, 11-3, 11-9, 8-11, 5-6)
WS: Yap Yee lost to Ayaho Sugino 2-3 (10-11, 11-7, 4-11, 11-10, 2-6)
MD: Dede Ryan Philip-Yap Qar Siong bt Nur Mohd Azriyn Ayub-Tan Chee Tean 3-1 (11-10, 8-11, 11-7, 11-10)
XD: Hiripong Sathorn-Liu Lin lost to Cheah Yee See-Goh Soon Huat 0-3 (3-11, 8-11, 7-11)
MS1: Wu Song Jian lost to Soong Joo Ven 0-3 (5-11, 8-11, 7-11)

(8pm) Petaling Jaya BC lost to Petaling BC 9-10
MS2: Goh Giap Chin bt Kenichi Tago 3-1 (7-11, 11-4, 11-4, 11-8)
WS: Supanida Katethong bt Hera Desiana Rachmawati 3-0 (11-10, 11-9, 11-5)
MD: Chooi Kah Ming-Low Juan Shen lost to Aaron Chia-Shia Chun Kang 1-3 (10-11, 11-7, 10-11, 9-11)
XD: Thanesh Veerappan-Woon Khe Wei lost to Chen Tang Jie-Devi Tika Permatasari 1-3 (4-11, 11-3, 4-11, 9-11)
MS1: Lee Cheuk Yiu lost to Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin 1-3 (10-11, 11-8, 3-11, 9-11)

No Comments

Post A Comment